What Is Jello Made Of?
What Is Jello Made Of? Jello is a brand name for sweet and fruity gelatin desserts. The gelatin used in Jello is pure animal protein that is extracted by a process of soaking cow or pig bones, bovine skin, intestines, organ, and connective tissue in a bath of a diluted hydrochloric acid solution. It is an animal by product, not a vegetable substance.
Gelatin is the foundation of Jello. There are several steps of the gelatin extracting processes that includes filtration, evaporation, drying, grinding, and sifting of the gelatin. The byproduct of the entire process is pure gelatin, which is a yellow granulated powder. When gelatin is dissolved in hot water then cooled, it becomes a semi solid colloid gel, like a gummy bear.
The main ingredients in Jello are gelatin, sugar, and food coloring. Gelatin is used in confectionery, Jello desserts, as an additive in margarine, yogurt, and ice cream. Pharmaceutical capsules or vitamin capsules are made from gelatin. Various industries use heavily concentrated gelatin molds for things like colored gels on lighting equipment, different types of industrial glue, for testing munitions, and in cosmetics.
Kosher gelatin is made from processing fish bones and beef skins according to the ancient Jewish laws governing food preparation. Kosher law is very strict and dictates what animals may be used, animals must be farm raised, have cloven hooves, chew their cud, and slaughtered according to Jewish law. No pork is allowed in processing gelatin for Kosher Jello. A Kosher supervisor agency presides over the production of all kosher foods. Jello does make Kosher Jello and marks the package with a K to signify it is Kosher.